A Passion, An Addiction, And A Total Distraction! V””V

Well then followers of the page … I was in the middle of writing up this weeks summary of One Foot in the Grave for the Night Huntress Series page on Facebook when I was totally distracted by a discussion on another page I belong to about Being Human (the UK version).

The discussion started with somebody saying how they had put in Season 1 to get some screen grabs and then gotten totally distracted and ended up watching the whole thing. Which I totally understood having stopped everything just because a certain episode was on the television.  So everything was fine and then the comments started about how the show should have stayed more towards the light and that they took the “easy route” making the vampire blood thirsty.

And that was all it took to get me going.  I am always on the look out for “Wrong” opinions I can correct … be it the latest episode of True Blood (followers of mine will know that I LOVE to obsess about that), or a discussion about the history of vampires and where the legends began (Of theories there are many), What the vampire rules are (depending of course on author, legend or show), or the differences from books to TV/Movies .. I DO love to share my thoughts whether people want to hear them or not! 

Now why you may ask is this important and I have to confess in the grand scheme of things it probably isn’t but like a woman with a purpose, not understood by many I might add, off I went with a few little “thoughts” of my own.

What do they expect vampires to be like?  If they paid attention they would be aware that even as early as their happy Season 1 the vampire in question (John Mitchell) had a very dark and dangerous path having killed too many people to list before settling down to play “house” for a while.  The friendship he shared with George the dog, I mean Werewolf, was not something born out of Mitchell never having been a “bad vampire”.  Quite the opposite in fact.  It was the darkness he knew was inside him that allowed him to appreciate the smaller things in life – like watching the Real Hustle for example.

They argued that with the desecration of human life in the Box Tunnel 20 Episode they gave in to people’s expectations of what a vampire should be. Hmmmm let’s think for a minute … the humans ATTACKED his coven, KILLED one of his best friends, he was betrayed by a woman he cared about who was only using him from the very beginning, so what was he supposed to do? Sit back and say awwwww stupid humans??? WHY would ANYONE tolerate that yet alone a creature born from darkness that has been trying to justify the mistakes humans make only to have it thrown in his face?

No he does what any predator would do if you backed them into a corner and then just kept poking at them with a stick.  HE ATTACKED!!!!  He attacked, and he killed, and if you ask me, he should have been allowed to get away with it and to this day I believe that had the actor playing him not already given notice that he would be leaving they would not have gone in the direction that they did in Season 3.

Of course the big question is why does this bother me?  Why can I not just look at it and say well they are wrong but so be it.  Well ever since Dracula and then the Anne Rice novels I have been in love with the darkness that is the vampire.  I read everything, watch everything, and have done since long before the “Trendy” vampire was introduced.  My vampires are dangerous, obsessive creatures and killing is but a part of their lives whether they choose to acknowledge it or not. With over 20 years of  an adoration that has done nothing but grow and expand as time has passed (and it continues to do so ), why do people suddenly want vampires to be light and goodness.  Isn’t this really a complete contradiction of all that the true fans love?

And with that I will leave it, rant over, thoughts shared and now I wait for my true love to return to me, a man who adores me despite my over whelming obsession, who’s daily absence makes me long even more for the night as I know that then he will be by my side.

 

V””V

 

6 responses to “A Passion, An Addiction, And A Total Distraction! V””V

  1. I would like to add, that as Season one opens, he had just turned Lauren a month before. He wasn’t exactlly sticking to his diet!

  2. First off, when did vampires become creatures of light? I thought that was angels or care bears or some such. A true vampire is a blood-thirsty demon of the night. “more towards the light and that they took the “easy route” making the vampire blood thirsty.” What’s with this rubbish? The easy route would have been to make Mitchell an Edward, and have him be all emo and possessive. Mitchell always knew who and what he was, and he admitted it freely. He may tried to have fight his inner beast, but he gave in to it too. He was what he was, and damn was he ever awesome.

    • Well said Jennifer! I agree with you 100%. I have no idea what these people were on but it wasn’t just one it was a whole group of them which is why I had to stop what I was doing to vent. Too many people want to make everything “happy” well they can take their “happy” and keep it AWAY from my vampires!!!! V””V

      • I’m working on something now (I’m working on a lot of things now, lol) but with this one, I want to take the vampires back to blood crazed, artery chomping monsters. They’ll just be wolves in sheeps clothing. Which while I do enjoy some romanticized vampires, that is the way they should be.

Leave a Reply

