Kiss The Dead By Laurell K Hamilton – My Review (Warning possible spoilers) V””V

So June 5th was the release of the latest Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Novel (#21) – Kiss the Dead by Laurell K Hamilton and I just could not wait to get my hands on it.

Those of you that know me may be a little surprised to see that I read a series about a “vampire hunter” and I will confess that I was put off by that for the longest time but after hearing so many great things I decided I had to give them a try and I never looked back.

This book was no exception and I read cover to cover without putting it down (something that very few authors can entice me to do).  We had already had a deleted “tease” scene in the form of “Beauty” earlier this year and let me say for all of those looking for true erotica you would, in my opinion, be better off reading those 20 pages than trying to read 50 shades of grey.

In this book Anita continues to try to balance her work with the preternatural police force and her very tumultuous love life. The book starts with a 15-year-old girl who has gone missing and the suspicion that a rogue vampire clan has abducted her.  I was thrilled to see that Anita is finally getting some of the respect she deserves with regard to the police force and that even though some of them may not like her, the people putting themselves of on the line with her at least give her respect and trust in the field.

Anita is a dark, dark, character and has become even more so as the series has unfolded and the experiences she has had to go through and she has started to accept that sometimes there is only the better of two bad choices and although she still struggles with some of the things she has to do, she does them and then struggles afterwards.  She is finally learning to exert some finer control over her “powers” and that actually enables her to save people who would otherwise have been lost.

New characters are introduced and old characters show their flaws, but Anita’s “family” remain as loyal as ever and in her house it really is Lions and Tigers but no bears (yet lol) Oh MY!!!!!

I have read a lot of negative comments as the series has gone on about the way that Laurell chooses to write and all I have to say is that ANYONE with a penchant for the darker side wouldn’t want her writing any other way.  There are so few authors out there that come even close to visualizing the darkness that lives inside my head and personally I await with bated breath for each and every installment she cares to share with us.

3 responses to “Kiss The Dead By Laurell K Hamilton – My Review (Warning possible spoilers) V””V

  1. Can’t wait to read it. I love this series and I love her supe family. I give props to Laurell because not a lot of people can write the stories she writes & even she has said that sometimes it’s hard to keep the darker book side from interfering with her normal life.

    • When you live so close to the darkness it is hard sometimes for people on the outside to see. I mean my own father said he needed a person in his book 2 that could kill and not feel bad about it so he just literally wrote me in. What does that say??? That smile that Anita has that dosen’t reach her eyes ,,,, I have that. The further the series goes along the more I identify with her. Scarey thought …. now If I could just find a vampire …….. V””V

Leave a Reply

